Fate: The correct order of all series and films

© Netflix

The Fate universe consists of a number of series and films that are difficult to organize without outside help. So that you don’t lose track while watching the anime saga, we’ve put together the right order for you here.

It all started with a video game, but “Fate” has now grown into a gigantic multimedia franchise that includes games as well as series and films. The first anime adaptation called Fate / stay night was released in Japan in 2005 and is constantly being expanded with new offshoots, all of which play in the same universe, but sometimes follow different actions.

By and large, the fantasy series deals with the war for the Holy Grail, in which selected masters summon so-called “servants” who fight each other in a closed area. Each servant represents the spirit of a hero from the past or future and has special skills. But there are also big differences in character and so the focus is not only on the object that fulfills the wish, but also on the values ​​and motivation of the individual characters.

In what order should you watch Fate?

Without prior knowledge, it is difficult to guess which series or films from the Fate series you should watch first. Especially since there are several offshoots such as alternative stories and parodies in addition to the main story. You don’t necessarily have to see it though.

In principle, it is advisable to first follow the canon and then work off the spin-offs. This means that you do not overlook any important information and do not easily get confused with the content. The canon so far only includes the Fate / Zero and Fate / stay night sagas.

All other parts can be viewed in any order without worry. The spin-offs build on the mechanics of the main saga and tell their own, completely independent stories. For the original series and films, one of these two variants should ideally be chosen:

Variant 1: Fate saga according to chronology of content

It probably sounds most plausible to consume the fantasy anime in chronological order. Not only does the story seem more lively, you are also protected from possible spoilers that appear in the actual prequels. That’s how it’s done:

  1. Fate / Zero (Series, 2011)
  2. Fate/stay night – Unlimited Blade Works (Serie, 2014)
  3. Fate/stay night – Heaven’s Feel (Filmreihe, 2017)
  4. Fate/stay night (Serie, 2005)
  5. Spin-offs (various)

Also interesting: The 8 weirdest anime series of all time

Variant 2: Fate saga by year of publication

The plot becomes more complex if one is guided by the year of publication. In this order, the parts of the Fate saga were published by the animation studio Ufotable and other production facilities:

  1. Fate/stay night (Serie, 2005)
  2. Fate / Zero (Series, 2011)
  3. Fate/stay night – Unlimited Blade Works (Serie, 2014)
  4. Fate/stay night – Heaven’s Feel (Filmreihe, 2017)
  5. Spin-offs (various)

You can mostly stream the series on Netflix. In order to be able to see all parts, you have to buy some DVD and Blu-ray editions, which are currently relatively cheap at Amazon * gives. We strongly advise against using illegal platforms such as Aniflix.

more on the subject

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.